Dramatic Beauty of Iceland is Showcased at Þingvellir National Park

P1170182.jpg

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll find that I’ve been posting a few pics from my trip to Iceland. What’s most astounding to me about Iceland is that it offers so many varied landscapes on its small island. Today let’s visit the dramatic vistas of Þingvellir National Park! Þingvellir National Park is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and it’s easy to see why. It has some beautifully unique landscapes that I haven’t seen anywhere else in the world, much less within driving distance from each other. Shall we take a look around?

P1170159.jpg

On the way to the The Lögberg (Law Rock), we stopped to admire Flosagja canyon.

P1170161.jpgP1170162.jpg

P1170163.jpg

P1170167.jpg

P1170169.jpg

Finally seeing the Lögberg, which used to be the site of the country’s parliament!

p1170177

This park really made me feel like I traveled back in time, or at least traveled to Middle Earth…

P1170182.jpg

P1170186.jpg

P1170191.jpg

P1170199.jpg

P1170217.jpgP1170216.jpg

There were many tourists visiting that day, but the park is so big that sometimes it felt like I had the park to myself. Walking around such unique landscapes really made me appreciate how wonderful Iceland is to visit. Join me next time when we visit a completely different, yet equally stunning landscape in Iceland!

Have you visited Þingvellir? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

